July 7, 2011

  • One of THOSE days

    Well, today was one of those days, where I had to just sit back and laugh; I could have cried thinking about it, but it really was just way too funny.  One of those days where if it could go wrong, it did.  It all started before 6 am too; Veronica waking up before 6am should have been my first clue.

    1.  Veronica was awake at 5:52am.  She normally sleeps until close to 7am, so with Mom and Dad on vacation, I was planning on getting the morning milking, chicken feeding and baby chick work done early rather than waiting utnil after she was up and fed like I normally do.  Thankfully she went back to sleep!!!!

    2.  I had errands to run, so when Veronica woke up at 8:45am, I had everyone dressed and ready to go.  I get the every one in car seats and go to start the van....dead.  Won't turn over, clock won't even turn on.  One word...SAMUEL.  He decided to "play" in the van yesterday and I thought I'd checked everything when I sent him to time-out.  He must have gone back in when I wasn't looking and turned EVERYTHING back on...head lights, flashers, inside lights.  Battery is dead.  So I get everyone out...I wasn't happy.

    3.  I head up to the chicks at 11am; just 2 hours after having been up there to turn off the heat lights and check on them for the 3rd time.  Only thing time I had a surprise...almost half of them are running around the large enclosure.  Chickens (and chicks) like to dig ... a lot!!!  So they dug and dug, right along the edge of their heated enclosure and got out.  Escaped! 19 in total, running all over.  I tried several times to catch them, but nothing worked.  I finally just gave them food and water and figured Brad could help me when he got home.

    4.  Teaching a last minute NFP class tonight.  I had dinner done early, house cleaned and get the course stuff out, go to put the dvd in the dvd player and can't find it.  Ugh.  Just one more thing to add to my already crazy day.  I look and look, but still can't find it.  Before wasting more time looking, knowing class is starting in less than 2 hours, I decide to call another teaching couple and see if I can borrow their dvd.  I am so thankful they were home and I was able to pick it up and make it home well before class time.

    5.  Van...battery is DEAD.  Really dead.  As in, won't turn over even when jumped.  So Brad is now on his way at 10:20pm to his parents house to borrow a battery charger to see if  that will work.  Not how he planned on spending his evening.

    Chick update: they are all once again contained and warm for the night.  Logs are now lining the inside of their space in hopes that they won't dig themselves out!!!

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *