December 9, 2010

  • Two weeks old

    I am always amazed at how quickly time goes by and there is nothing like a new baby to really show you how quickly time does in deed go by.  I sit here typing with my now two week old baby girl in my arms.  How did she get to be two weeks old already?  She is still the love of our lives and is so loved and doted over by her brothers, to include Samuel who tells her repeatedly that "It's ok" when I'm changing her diaper and she's crying.  He stands right next to the couch and rubs her head while she cries, trying to make her feel better.  I've never seen a baby hugged and kissed so much.

    Veronica is such a wonderful baby, so calm and peaceful (most of the time).  She sleeps almost all the time and of course, loves to be held.  So I spend my days happily holding her whether she's awake or asleep.  I've had a lot of time to reflect on motherhood and oh how I wish I was the mother I am now thirteen years ago when Grant was born.  I would have done so many things differently.  I would have held him all day long rather than let get used to being put down. I would have let him sleep in bed with me if it meant we both slept more.  I would have taken time to just enjoy him.  Not that I didn't enjoy him, but there is something about time and other children that seems to put things into perspective for me.  I am so much more relaxed now than I was even 5.5 years ago when Matthias was born.

    I don't think I will ever get tired of staring at a newborn.  I could really sit and just look at Veronica all day long.  There is something almost intoxicating about new babies, especially when they sleep.  Something that just compels me to stare at them, memorizing their face and expressions.  I love their soft skin and the little noises they make when they sleep.  Oh, how blessed I am to have been able to do this 6 times now.  So Veronica spends her days happily snuggled in my arms (or those of one of her loving brothers or Daddy), she snuggles in with me at night and both sleep for hours on end (normally about 5 hours the first stretch) and wake up refreshed in the morning.  This morning I woke up snuggled between Veronica on one side and Samuel on the other (we really do need a bigger bed).  Life doesn't really get much better than this.

    I wish I would have known years ago that just going with baby's flow and their routine rather than trying to force baby into my day would have made for a more relaxed mom and meant ultimately more rest for me.  This has been the easiest transition for me. I feel great, which I think surprises a lot of people.  Life is getting back to normal and I don't really feel like anyone is being neglected.  Such a nice feeling since bringing home a baby can really turn life upside down.  Life is good and a new baby is such a blessing.

    Hanging out with big brother Parker

    Here are a couple pictures of my tiny little girl.  I am used to my boys who always seem to grow so quickly after birth and now I have my little tiny girl who is barely above her birth weight at 2 weeks.  She is a tiny 7 pounds 10 ounces (just one ounce above her birth weight), but she's doing well and is healthy.

Comments (2)

  • She's just precious! And I totally get what you mean about wishing you were the mother with the first one that you are now. I had Alex sleeping in his own bed, in his own room at 2 weeks old. Oliver sleeps with me, in my bed! lol

    Congrats on your sweet 2 week old!

  • These pictures are really making me want a little one to hold! Thankfully my kids still let me snuggle with them. Veronica is just precious! I think it's pretty awesome that she has 5 older brothers looking out for her. I, too, noticed that Colleen didn't grow as fast as Michael did; maybe it's a girl thing. I hope time "slow downs" for you!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment