December 23, 2010

  • Gingerbread nativity

    This is the 2nd year we've worked on our gingerbread nativity.  Last year it was a project Grant and I tackled after having the kit for several years, but thinking it was way too complex to actually tackle, so I kept putting it off.  Finally, Grant persisted and offered to do most of it, so I relented and decided to try it.  I will admit, not having a new baby in the house helped with the motivation to actually attempt this seemingly daunting project.  I have to say, it wasn't as hard as I had anticipated and we had a great time.

    So this year, Grant was reading the CLAA site and came to me, bursting with excitement, about a gingerbread house contest the school was having.  He and Parker decided then and there that they were going to make the gingerbread nativity and enter to win.  They wanted to start that day and were disappointed to find out that we needed to head to the store before beginning.  They had a great time.  I helped with the baking and assembly, but they did all of the decorating and placing of animals and people.  This is a fun project, but it takes about 3-4 people to get the thing assembled; those figures don't want to stay standing very well.

    The entire crew, to include Veronica

    The two bakers and vVeronica, who was fussy and wanted someone to hold her; Grant of course scooped her right up

    The nativity

    Close-ups of their work